Arkansas Democrats Elect New House Leadership Team

The Democratic caucus of the Arkansas House has elected a dynamic new leadership team that’s ready to do the work to secure the well being of Arkansas families — and to build back better. The election of new leadership follows in the footsteps of Minority Leader Fred Love (Little Rock) and Minority Whip LeAnnne Burch (Monticello). Rep. Tippi McCullough was elected Minority Leader, Rep. Denise Garner as Minority Whip, Rep. Kenneth Ferguson as Treasurer, and Rep. David Whitaker as Secretary.
Minority Leader Tippi McCullough (HD33 – Little Rock)
“Arkansans are facing hard roads at every turn this year. COVID has thrown families and schools into uncertainty, as we worry about our children, our health, and our jobs. But through it all we have shown that Arkansans value being there for each other. We want to come together to work for solutions in this time of crisis. That’s what this Democratic caucus has to offer, we will be a voice for Arkansas families and fight for them every single day.”
Minority Whip Denise Garner (HD84 – Fayetteville)
“The Democratic caucus is on the rise and I am honored to be a part of a leadership team that is focused on communication — and showing the people of Arkansas what good government can strive toward. This pandemic has pushed our medical system and our families to the brink, and we are showing our resilience. I want Arkansas families to know that we are listening, and we are dedicating ourselves to rising to meet the challenges of our time.”
Treasurer Kenneth Ferguson (HD16 – Pine Bluff)
“Arkansas is a strong state and we are a strong people, but we must also ensure that our government is doing the work for us, and not against us. Our caucus can be a pillar for the people of Arkansas. We are ready to fight for the people of this state and I am honored to be a part of this leadership team.
Secretary David Whitaker (HD85 – Fayetteville)
“This crisis demands that we seize the moment, we simply must if we are to prevail and build Arkansas back from this public health and economic crisis. Times are dark, but make no mistake, we will get through this. Together we will build back in our homes, in our schools, in our businesses, and in our communities — and yes, we must also build back at the state Capitol. The Democratic caucus is committed to securing a better life for Arkansas families, as we deal with the crisis at hand and build for the future. It is an honor to serve.”
D.P.A. Chairman Michael John Gray (Augusta)
I want to congratulate the new leadership of the House Democratic Caucus. As an Arkansan, and as Chairman of the Party, I couldn’t be more proud of their desire to lead.”
Leader McCullough is serving in her first term in the Arkansas House and is unopposed in November. She is a retired educator, who taught for more than 34 years in just about every type of school environment there is in Arkansas. She’s taught in rural towns like Kingston, Newport, and Mountain Pine, at Little Rock’s Mount Saint Mary Academy and the historic Central High School.